NCCWSL Scholarships

Scholarships for National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL)
Tennessee Colleges/Universities and AAUW Tennessee Branches nominate undergraduate college and university students for AAUW-TN scholarships to attend the annual National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). Scholarships cover conference registration (including lodging and meals). AAUW Tennessee branches and colleges and universities who nominate students are expected to contribute to their travel expenses if they receive AAUW-TN scholarships.  AAUW-TN has awarded college women the NCCWSL Scholarship since 2005.


AAUW of Tennessee  has selected three recipients for the undergraduate college and university students to attend the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) to be held June 2-4, 2016, at the University of Maryland, College Park. 


Molly Blankenship (MTSU student nominated by Dr. Deanna Raffo) is majoring in Liberal Studies with concentrations in Political Science and Social Work/Advocacy. She has a 3.30 GPA and expects to graduate December 2016. Ms. Blankenship is Founder and Director of two nonprofit community organizations: (1) Reclaim Ourselves, an organization dedicated to utilizing the arts as a mechanism for advancing social change and (2) The Lavinia Project, a community literacy project for survivors of domestic and sexual violence. From NCCWSL, Ms Blankenship hopes “to be empowered to expand and advance my leadership skills so as to be more effective as an agent of change on behalf of underprivileged and marginalized populations in the society in which we live.”

Haley Wilson (UT Chattanooga student nominated by Professor Gwendolyn Spring Atkinson) is majoring in Political Science with a focus on American Studies with a minor in Women’s Studies. She has a 3.39 GPA and plans to graduate May 2017. Ms. Wilson has held a number of campus leadership positions, including Sisterhood Chair; ELECT HER Planning Committee; Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature: Lobbying CEO 2015, Lobbying Director 2016; Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature UTC Delegation: Secretary 2015, Vice President 2016. Ms. Wilson says, “NCCWSL would give me the resources and information to grow my leadership skills so I could hopefully make even more of a difference on my campus. I could grow my passion for feminism and come up with effective ways to promote equality among my peers.”

Ufuoma Peace Otebele (UT Martin student nominated by Dr. Sue Byrd and the AAUW Martin Branch) is majoring in Biology with a minor in English. She has a 2.83 GPA and plans to graduate May 2017. Ms. Otebele is UT Martin’s Women Student Association President. She says, “Attending NCCWSL would mean the world to me and will indirectly profit many women around the world. This conference will take a nineteen-year-old women’s right advocate from Nigeria and put her out into the world to help make it a better place for women. I want to attend for the women I could empower after this journey through what I will learn from this experience.”

2015 AAUW-TN NCCWSL Scholarship Recipients

Jamie Farr (L) and Megan Terry (Center) with NCCWSL friend Aisha Saidy (R)

Jamie Farr (L) and Megan Terry (Center) with NCCWSL friend Aisha Saidy (R)

One of the 2015 Recipients was: Megan Merrick

Megan Merrick web
Megan Merrick, a recent graduate of Middle Tennessee State University, attended the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders, May 28-30, 2015, at the University of Maryland, College Park. She was one of more than 1,000 young women from across the country and around the world who attended the conference. Attendees participated in 50 workshops and networked with representatives from more than 80 graduate schools and employers. Merrick was president of the MT Anthropology Society and had a double minor in archaeology and history.

Past recipients are:

2015 Recipient
Megan Merrick, MTSU
Sarah Dianne Jones, Maryville College
Jamie Farris, UT Martin

2014 Recipient
Sophia Naomi Plant, MTSU

2013 Recipient
Kellum K. Everett, MTSU

2012 Recipient
Jullian Harris, University of Kentucky

2011 Recipients
Lisa Walker, MTSU

2010 Recipients
Mandi Leigh Smith, Maryville College
Jennifer M. Swegles, UT Martin
Kamryn Warren, MTSU

2009 Recipients
Carlissia N. Graham, Univ of Memphis
Leslea Robertson, UT Martin

2008 Recipients
Monique Denney, MTSU
Ashlyn Gurley, Maryville College
Katie Beth Price, UT Martin

2007 Recipients
Claire M. Beck, Belmont Univ
Page Goad, TN Tech
Nora M. Cook, Belmount Univ

2005 Recipients
Heidi von der Lage, recommended by Oak Ridge Branch
Candace Marshall Hannan, recommended by Oak Ridge Branch